বিদ্যাসাগর বিশ্ববিদ্যালয়

VIDYASAGAR UNIVERSITY Department of Chemistry

Proceedings of the meeting of the Departmental Committee convened on Monday November 23, 2020 at 10,30 am:

Members present:

Prof. Sudipta Dalai, Head, Department of Chemistry, in the Chair

Prof. Braja Gopal Bag

Prof. Ajay Kumar Misra

Prof. Amiya Kumar Panda

Dr. Subal Chandra Manna

Dr. Sumita Roy

Dr. Maidul Hossain

Dr. Anirban Basu

Resolutions:

- 1. Proceedings of the last DC meeting held on 06.11.2020 were read and confirmed.
- 2. Members of the DC thoroughly discussed about the maintenance of the Scanning Electron Microscope and Nuclear Magnetic Resonance Spectrometer that were purchased from the previously completed DST-FIST grant (2012-2017). The instruments have so far been maintained from the previous DST-FIST Grant as well as the UGC-SAP (both the projects have been completed). The ongoing DST-FIST project does not have any grant for the maintenance for the first year. And the available fund is much less than the requirement, in terms of the maintenance of the other instruments in the Department.

Under this circumstance, members of the Departmental Committee unanimously resolved to request the University authority to maintain the instruments (SEM and NMR). The members opined that the instrumental facilities be made available to all the researchers/faculty members of Vidyasagar University. The University may frame the relevant modalities in this regard.

The members also opined that unless the instruments are maintained by the University centrally, the Department is unable to sustain, because of not having sufficient fund, and if the instruments are not maintained by the University, eventually the instruments will become non-functional. Authorities are therefore, humbly requested to expedite the matter at the earliest in view of the exigency.

Page 1 of 2



বিদ্যাসাগর বিশ্ববিদ্যালয়

VIDYASAGAR UNIVERSITY **Department of Chemistry**

3. Misc.

- Purchase procedure of the CD spectrometer from the ongoing DST-FIST Grant: Prof. Amiya Kumar Panda, Coordinator, ongoing DST-FIST Program reported the DC that Hon'ble Vice-Chancellor has kindly constituted an Expert Committee comprising Prof. Ashutosh Ghosh, Hon'ble Vice-Chancellor, Rani Rashmoni Green University and Prof. Swagata Ghosh, Department of Chemistry, IIT-Kharagpur in order to finalize the specification of the CD spectrometer. Prof. Panda also informed that the Expert Committee has expressed its willingness to discuss the issue with the members of the Departmental Committee. Once the schedule is finalized, members will be informed accordingly. Meanwhile, members were requested to kindly send their requirements/specifications for onward submission to the Expert Committee.
- b. Dr. Sumita Roy requested DC in allowing Dr. Sipra Ghosh change in mentor of DS Kothari Postdoctoral Fellowship from Prof. Kumaresh Ghosh, Dept. of Chemistry, Kalyani University to Dr. Sumita Roy, Dept. of Chemistry, Vidyasagar University

The DC recommended the same for subsequent approval from the University authority.

The meeting ended with thanks to the Chair.

Dr. Sudipta Dalai

Dr. Sudipta Dalai

Professor & Head

Department of Chemistry

Department of Chemistry

Maidul Hassain Sund Chamba mana Sumita Ray

VIDYASAGAR UNIVERSITY Midnapore-721102, W.B., INDIA

Date: 23.11.2020

Anisban Basu